can you carry the ball in pickleball?

As a game that's rapidly gaining popularity, pickleball is becoming a favorite among sports enthusiasts all over the world. But despite the sport becoming increasingly popular, many players still have a few questions about the game's rules and regulations. One such question is, “can you carry the ball in pickleball?” This is a question that often divides players, with some insisting that it's a legal move while others argue that it's a foul. In this blog, we will delve deep into the concept of carrying the ball in pickleball. We'll explore the rules, the ethical considerations, and where the line is drawn between what's considered fair play and cheating. So, buckle up and let's dive into the world of pickleball!

can you carry the ball in pickleball??

In pickleball, the ball cannot be carried or held on the paddle. Any contact with the ball must be a “strike” or “hit,” using a legal stroke that follows the game's rules. The concept of carrying or holding the ball, commonly known as “dinking,” is not allowed and considered a fault. Players are encouraged to execute skillful strokes such as “topspin” or “backspin” to achieve better ball control, placement, and effective strategies during the game. Overall, pickleball is a sport that values technique, precision, and agility, rather than brute force or overpowering shots.

What happens if you carry the ball in pickleball?

Carrying the ball in pickleball results in a fault, as it violates the rule of allowing only one bounce per side. Carrying refers to holding the ball against the paddle and propelling it, rather than striking it cleanly. This technique is also known as a “scoop shot” or “flip shot” and is generally discouraged in competitive play. The ball must be hit cleanly and without any prolonged contact with the paddle. Carrying the ball can also result in a loss of control, decreasing the player's strategic advantage on the court.

Is carrying the ball allowed in pickleball if it's unintentional?

No, carrying the ball is not allowed in pickleball, whether intentional or unintentional, as it falls under the category of “double-hit” which is considered a fault and results in a point for the opposing team. This rule ensures fairness and sportsmanship in the game, as it prevents players from gaining an advantage through improper handling of the ball. Proper ball control is essential in pickleball, and players should aim to avoid carrying the ball at all times to maintain the integrity of the game.

Can you lose a point for carrying the ball in pickleball?

Yes, a player can lose a point for carrying the ball, which is also known as “fingering,” “palming,” or “dinking.” According to the official rules of pickleball, carrying the ball occurs when a player fails to hit the ball cleanly and instead carries it on the paddle. This results in a loss of point for the offending player. Therefore, it is important for players to develop proper technique and avoid carrying the ball in order to maintain a fair and competitive game.

How can you avoid carrying the ball in pickleball?

To avoid carrying the ball in pickleball, it is essential to develop a clean stroke technique that minimizes the contact time between the paddle and the ball. To achieve this, players should focus on maintaining a proper grip and positioning of the paddle, followed by a smooth and controlled hitting motion. Adding spin to the ball can also help reduce the risk of carrying by creating a sharper trajectory and providing a more predictable bounce. Additionally, practicing with players who have a variety of playing styles can improve one's anticipation and reaction time, further reducing the likelihood of carrying the ball.

What are the rules about carrying the ball in pickleball?

The rules regarding carrying the ball in pickleball are quite clear. It is considered a fault if the player intentionally carries or catches the ball on their paddle, allows it to come to rest, or throws or slingshots the ball. This is because the objective of the game is to hit the ball with the paddle, not to carry or hold onto it. If the ball accidentally rests momentarily on the paddle, it is not considered a fault as long as the player continues to hit it within the rules. However, intentional carrying or catching of the ball is not allowed and can result in a loss of point.


The Editorial Team at brings you insightful and accurate content on a wide range of topics. Our diverse team of talented writers is passionate about providing you with the best possible reading experience.